Time to charge at home

Faults and Technical chat for the Volkswagen ID.4
Kelvin1066

Post by Kelvin1066 »

I have a wallbox charger at home. Can anyone tell me how long it should take to charge my ID4 Pro Performance from 20 to 80% and if poss 20 to 100%. I thought I'd read 12 hours up to 100% - that seems faster than I'd expect and mine seems to take 3 times that length of time even to 80%

Warrior

Post by Warrior »

I've regularly charged mine from 20% to 80% and my wall charger app keeps a record for me. On average, the time taken to charge is 6½ hours. I've only charged once at home up to 100%, but it wasn't from 20%, as this was prior to a long trip.
ID4 1st Edition in Dusk Blue Metallic (77 kWh)
EO Mini Pro 2
Bedford EV

Post by Bedford EV »

I am no expert, and our ID4 hasn’t even arrived, but surely the following are key:

Maximum battery capacity within the car
Amount left in the battery at the time of recharge commencement
The maximum capacity of the wall charger (typically 7.7kwh, but you can buy lower and higher).
The target percent of battery capacity desired

Not sure how we can help Kelvin without those?

Once known, it’s basically a maths sum compared to a reality check which will help focus on the suspicious item.

Also, use a three pin plug option, which will take much, much longer, but again by calculating the expected time you can compare against reality and it might eliminate the car side.

I’ll shut up now. Sorry if it’s no help.
😉
ID.4 Life 52kw 148ps in Moonstone Grey; 2nd order ID.4 Style 52kw in Kings Red
gflacko

Post by gflacko »