Hello from Kent

New to the Volkswagen ID.4 Forums? Introduce yourself here
Deleted User 251

Post by Deleted User 251 »

Hi everyone.

I'm due to get my ID.4 1st Edition at the end of Sept via my companies EV salary sacrifice scheme. Trying to get my head around the various charging options etc.

Look forward to interacting with you all.

B

AndyF

Post by AndyF »

Welcome. I’m a fellow newbie. Not 100% sure but I think all the 1st editions have the biggest battery and charge capability. I’ve charged a few times using the full CCS on GeniePoint chargers. Not done a full charge yet but the biggest charge I did was 21%-80% which took a little over 1hr @50KWh charge rate. Maxed out at 185 mph at one point. I’ve also got a screwfix granny charger which maxes out at 9mph 💤💤💤💤💤💤💤💤💤 but it’s purely for getting you out of trouble. I’ll be giving an IONITY charger a go in a few weeks while on a trip to Cornwall which promises even faster rates at a price. ID.4’s have their quirks but set aside you petrol or diesel thinking and you’ll be fine. Owning an EV is a mindset not a risk strategy. Range anxiety is something that exists in your head, not reality or so I keep telling myself.
I keep going out in mine for no reason, that’s something I’ve not done since my first car, a hillman avenger estate in 1974.
ID.4 1st edition
Deleted User 251

Thanks Andy. I'm pretty much not worried about range anxiety given my round commute is 120m/day the ID.4 should easily cope with that. It's more the plethora public charging providers and the various options of payment etc that's confusing. I'm sure I won't need to use public charging that often but when/if I do I don't want to be caught out.

Enjoy Cornwall, hope it's not too crowded!
SteveR

Post by SteveR »

Would recommend a Pod point wall mounted home charger and the InstaVolt network on the road.
Deleted User 251